Minor Midgets Capture 2018 Buffalo Cup

The Terrier’s Minor Midgets completed a perfect 5-0 weekend at the Buffalo Cup with a thrilling 2-1 overtime victory over the Oakville Rangers Sunday afternoon to be crowned 2018 Tournament Champions.

The Terriers saved their best effort of the weekend for the final five minutes as Oakville had neutralized their offence for a majority of the play during regulation time. In the last few moments of the game that changed as Massimo Calcagno provided the heroic effort by tallying the equalizer. That meant overtime.

That’s when it was goalie Nicholas Halle’s time to shine as he made back to back saves to keep the game tied. Midway through the 3 v 3 overtime period, Matthew Garcia and Nicholas Merritt completed a nifty 2 on 1 only to be stopped cold by the Oakville netminder. Following the scoring attempt, Garcia and Brandon Kakei patiently waited for a high cycle give and go opportunity, with Kakei ripping the tournament winner high blocker to trigger the celebrations.

It was the second tournament victory for the Terriers having captured the London Triple 20 earlier in the season.

Terrier’s six man defensive unit of Vijay Bedi, Nicholas Merritt, Liam Murdoch, Nicholas Pillo, Pierce Rowan and Ethan Ryan were tough and tireless in limiting opponents to 4 goals throughout the tournament.

Nicholas Halle and Dakota Sullivan combined for a stellar 0.80 goals against while sharing the 6-0 shutout Friday morning over Toronto Aeros to open the tournament.

On the opening night, Terrier’s second game of the round robin saw the boys defeat Birmingham Michigan 6-1. Saturday was much the same, as our Terriers defeated Oakville 2-1 and completed the round robin sweep with a convincing 5-1 outdoor classic over Ajax Axemen.

Congratulations to all forwards: James Almeida, Massimo Calcagno, Matthew Garcia, Brandon Kakei, Justin Kodric, Ryan MacNeil, Alex Raposo, Cameron Shishis and Malcolm Tran with their tournament leading 21 goals in 5 games and to all members of the coaching staff: Coach MacNeil, Coach O’Donnell, Coach Rowan, Trainer Calcagno and Manager Piera for their efforts!